Georgina Henry Award for Innovation 2017

Categories Uncategorized

Women in Journalism has announced its 3rd  annual journalism Georgina Henry Award for Innovation  to be presented at the prestigious National Press Awards sponsored by WIGGIN LLP.

Applicants are welcome from women at all stages of their career with a specific project they want to pursue.

The prize of £4000 will be used to fund either the completion of that project for a senior journalist or to pay for living expenses during work experience at two or more major national news organisations, arranged by the organisers.

The award is sponsored by leading media lawyers WIGGIN LLP.





Applicants can be any age, working in either print or multimedia. The judges will be looking for a flair for storytelling as well as evidence of innovation and/or impact. They will be looking for the winner to demonstrate an identifiable voice and flair for a specific subject.

The award was set up to honour Georgina Henry, who was a founding member of Women in Journalism as well as former deputy editor of the Guardian and head of before her tragic death in February 2014.

Eleanor Mills, WiJ chair says “Women in Journalism is delighted to be offering the award in the name of one of our founding members Georgina Henry of the Guardian. Offering a prize for innovation seems a great way to immortalise her memory and give a big break to an enterprising woman journalist.”

The Press Awards, “the Oscars of the industry” will take place on March 14 at a black tie dinner at The Hilton Hotel Park Lane .

Caroline Kean, Partner of Wiggin LLP said: ‘We have been with WIJ from its beginnings 23 years ago. We are proud to do something that both honours Georgina’s memory and offers opportunities to aspiring journalists – particularly at a time when changes in the industry and threats to press freedom mean that good journalists are more essential than ever.’

The award, for women only, can be entered by sending three examples of work from the past 12 months to plus an 800-word pitch for an ongoing journalistic project, explaining what stage it is at, and how it is likely to proceed.

Closing date for entries is February 1, 2017.

The judges can also nominate candidates. The six judges will be Eleanor Mills, editorial director of the Sunday Times and current chair of WiJ, Eve Pollard, founding chair of WiJ and former editor of the Sunday Express, Jane Martinson, head of media at the Guardian and former chair of WiJ, Alison Gow , editor, digital innovation Trinity Mirror Regionals and a board member of the Society of Editors, Caroline Kean, partner Wiggin LLP and Sue Ryan, former managing editor of the Daily Telegraph and a board member of the Society of Editors.