The Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation 2018

Women in Journalism recently awarded its 4th annual journalism Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation. It was presented at the prestigious National Press Awards sponsored by WIGGIN LLP on March 13 at the London Hilton.

Judges were looking for a flair for storytelling as well as evidence of innovation and/or impact. They also requited the winner to demonstrate an identifiable voice and understanding for a specific subject.

The award, which totalled £4,000 of prize funding, was set up to honour Georgina Henry, who was a founding member of Women in Journalism as well as former deputy editor of the Guardian and head of before her tragic death in February 2014.

Eleanor Mills, WIJ chair said, “Women in Journalism is delighted to be offering the award in the name of one of our founding members Georgina Henry of the Guardian. Offering a prize for innovation seems a great way to immortalise her memory and give a big break to an enterprising woman journalist.”

Caroline Kean, Partner of Wiggin LLP, said: ‘We have been with WIJ from its beginnings 25 years ago. We are proud to do something that both honours Georgina’s memory and offers opportunities to aspiring journalists – particularly at a time when changes in the industry and threats to press freedom mean that good journalists are more essential than ever.’

You can find out more about our 2018 winner, Jem Collins of Journo Resources, here (link to our 2018 winner) page.

Jem Collins – Journo Resources is the winner of the Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation 2018.

Journo Resources aims to widen access to the journalistic profession and recruit more working class and diverse people into the industry, an ambition which has never been more necessary.

More information on Jem and Journo Resources will be coming soon.

The award is sponsored by leading media lawyers WIGGIN LLP.

The six judges will be:

Eleanor Mills, editorial director of the Sunday Times and current chair of WIJ;

Helen Lewis, deputy editor, The New Statesman & deputy chair, WIJ;

Jane Martinson, columnist , Guardian, and former chair of WIJ;

Alison Gow, editor, digital innovation Trinity Mirror Regionals and a board member of the Society of Editors;

Caroline Kean, partner at Wiggin LLP;

Sue Ryan, former managing editor of the Daily Telegraph and a board member of the Society of Editors.