The Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation

Georgina Henry, a former Women in Journalism Chair

Women in Journalism (WiJ) is proud to support the brightest new ideas with a £4,000 annual prize sponsored by Wiggin LLP, in memory of the Guardian’s late deputy editor, Georgina Henry, also a former Women in Journalism chair.

The prize is used to support an initiative by the applicant. Applicants can be can any age, working in either print or multimedia and the winner will also join the WiJ committee, and be an honorary Women in Journalism Fellow.

Judges look for a flair for storytelling, as well as evidence of innovation or impact as well an identifiable voice and understanding for a specific subject.

The award will be presented at the Press Gazette’s British Journalism Awards in December  2022 with our partners Wiggin –  applications will open in October 2022.

You can read more about our past winners below.

“Winning this award has meant the world to me. Local journalism is the lifeblood of news and it is vital to how we make sense of the world and make it better. Sadly, there has been a crisis building and now the industry is facing unprecedented risk of collapsing. Yet there is hope. The Bureau Local has tapped into the resilience of our industry and formed a network of storytellers that are reimagining a positive future for journalism through collaboration and community focused reporting. Support from Women in Journalism and Wiggin is an investment in that fight and is bringing hope and tangible support for transforming our industry.”

Megan Lucero, 2020 Winner
Jemma Collins

“Winning the Georgina Henry Award in 2018 really was a game changer for both myself and Journo Resources. In an industry that’s sadly all too know for its lack of diversity across all levels, we need initiatives to break down barriers at all levels, and that’s what Journo Resources aims to do. Winning the award gave us so much – the funding was pivotal in allowing me to leave my full-time job for the project, and the support I’ve continued to receive from the Women in Journalism team in the years that followed has been incredible. I really would urge everyone to apply for this award.”

Jem Collins, 2018 Winner

“Winning the award means so much to me, The Unwritten and the disabled community. In a time when disabled people are struggling to be heard and even survive, I will be able to do so much more to ensure that disabled writers have a space to share their stories. We’ll be able to show the world what we’re capable of when people believe in us and I can’t thank Women in Journalism enough for that. Their support has meant the world.”

Rachel Charlton-Dailey , Winner 2021

Previous Winners

2021 Rachel Charlton-Dailey, Founder and Editor in Chief of The Unwritten 

2020 Megan Lucero, director of The Bureau Local, the collaborative, investigative journalism network. 

2019 PressPad, offers accommodation to students on work experience or with internships in London who would not otherwise be able to stay in the capital. 

2018 Jem Collins, founder of Journo Resources, provides free tools and resources for journalists at the beginning of their careers.

 2017 Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff, deputy editor of gal-dem magazine.

2016 Laura Bates, founder of Everyday Sexism