Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation  2018 – now open for entries

8 January 2018
By Milly Vincent

Women in Journalism has announced its 4th annual journalism Georgina Henry Award for Digital Innovation to be presented at the prestigious National Press Awards sponsored by WIGGIN LLP. (March 13, London Hilton)

The prizes (£4,000 in total) will be used to complete a project by the applicant. Applicants can be any age, working in either print or multimedia.

The judges will be looking for a flair for storytelling as well as evidence of innovation and/or impact. They will be looking for the winner to demonstrate an identifiable voice and understanding for a specific subject.
The award is sponsored by leading media lawyers WIGGIN LLP.

The award was set up to honour Georgina Henry, who was a founding member of Women in Journalism as well as former deputy editor of the Guardian and head of, before her death in February 2014.

Eleanor Mills, WIJ chair, said: “Women in Journalism is delighted to be offering the award in the name of one of our founding members, Georgina Henry of the Guardian. Offering a prize for innovation seems a great way to immortalise her memory and give a big break to an enterprising woman journalist.”

Caroline Kean, Partner of Wiggin LLP, said: ‘We have been with WIJ from its beginnings 25 years ago. We are proud to do something that both honours Georgina’s memory and offers opportunities to aspiring journalists – particularly at a time when changes in the industry and threats to press freedom mean that good journalists are more essential than ever.’

The award, for women only, can be entered by sending three examples of work from the past 12 months to, plus an 800-word pitch for an ongoing journalistic project, explaining what stage it is at, and how it is likely to proceed.

The closing date for entries is February 7, 2018.

The judges can also nominate candidates.

The six judges will be:

  • Eleanor Mills, editorial director of the Sunday Times and current chair of WIJ;
  • Helen Lewis, deputy editor, The New Statesman & deputy chair, WIJ;
  • Jane Martinson, columnist , Guardian and former chair of WIJ;
  • Alison Gow, editor (digital innovation) at Trinity Mirror Regionals and a board member of the Society of Editors;
  • Caroline Kean, partner at Wiggin LLP;
  • Sue Ryan, former managing editor of the Daily Telegraph and a board member of the Society of Editors.