Women in Journalism (WiJ) is proud to support the brightest new ideas with a £4,000 annual prize sponsored by Wiggin LLP, in memory of the Guardian’s late deputy editor, Georgina Henry, also a former Women in Journalism chair.

The applications for this years prize are closed but the winner and runner up will be invited to the Press Gazettes Press Awards on December 8, 2021.

The shortlist will be announced at the beginning of November 

Sponsored by

Previous Winners

2020 Megan Lucero, director of The Bureau Local, the collaborative, investigative journalism network. 

2019 PressPad, offers accommodation to students on work experience or with internships in London who would not otherwise be able to stay in the capital. 

2018 Jem Collins, founder of Journo Resources, provides free tools and resources for journalists at the beginning of their career

2017 Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff, deputy editor of gal-dem magazine.

2016 Laura Bates, founder of Everyday Sexism